Poe's free compute points refresh at the end of each 24-hour period, and unused free points do not carry forward. The official help page does not promise a universal midnight reset. Subscription allowances and separately purchased add-on points follow different rules.
Is the reset at midnight or after 24 hours?
Poe lets you use different AI bots with one pool of compute points. Its FAQ, updated October 12, 2026, says non-paying accounts receive points daily and those points reset after each 24-hour period. It does not specify one worldwide clock time, an account-specific anchor, or a guaranteed local-midnight reset. If the calendar has changed but your balance has not, inspect your Poe Settings rather than assuming a billing failure.
Three balances, three clocks
| Point source | Refresh or expiry | Unused points |
|---|---|---|
| Free daily allowance | End of each 24-hour period | Do not roll over |
| Subscription plan allowance | Daily and/or monthly, depending on the plan, starting from purchase | Generally do not roll over unless specified |
| Purchased add-on points | Usable for one year | Separate from ordinary plan renewal |
Poe's public pricing page shows paid examples including 10,000 points per day and 660,000 or 1.65 million points per month. The 10,000-per-day listing is a paid subscription tier, not a published universal free allowance. The FAQ does not state one fixed free point count for every account; check your own balance and plan details.
How many messages can I send?
A point balance is not a fixed number of prompts. A short exchange with a lightweight bot may cost less than a long conversation with a premium model, and some image or video bots use their own rates. Open a bot's Rates details before sending. For a message already sent, use its Info menu; for your overall spending, open Settings → View Points History on the web. Keeping unnecessarily long chat history in context can increase costs.
Does the same plan apply in every country?
Poe's June 18 purchase FAQ lists web, iOS and Android subscription availability separately. The United States, Japan, South Korea, Taiwan, Brazil, Spain, France, Germany and Vietnam appear in all three columns. Thailand appears in the two app-store columns, while Indonesia and mainland China are absent from that list. This is a subscription sales-channel table, not proof that free Poe access is blocked in an unlisted location. Local prices, taxes and plan options should be checked at checkout.
What changed in October 2026?
The October 12 date is the FAQ revision date, not a verified start date for the 24-hour policy. The purchase FAQ was updated June 18 and describes subscription renewals, default non-rollover and the one-year validity of add-on points. These official documents do not establish an earlier free allowance or an effective date for a change to the reset rule. Avoid comparing today's balance with unsourced historical numbers.
Bottom line
Free points: 24-hour renewal, no rollover. Plan points: the daily or monthly cycle shown in your subscription. Add-ons: usable for one year. Check which bucket your balance belongs to before expecting it to refill.
References (3)
- Poe general FAQ (updated October 12, 2026): https://help.poe.com/hc/en-us/articles/19944206309524-Poe-FAQs
- Poe purchases FAQ (updated June 18, 2026): https://help.poe.com/hc/en-us/articles/19945140063636-Poe-Purchases-FAQs
- Poe subscription plans (checked October 17, 2026): https://poe.com/subscription_plans
